Official Government Website


Mission Statement

To protect and enhance the public’s health, safety and welfare by establishing and maintaining standards of excellence used in regulating the practice of medicine and ensuring quality health care for the citizens of Idaho through licensure, discipline, and education.


COVID-Related Physician Licensure Exemption - Idaho Code 54-1804(1)(d) sets forth a licensure exemption for physicians during a time of disaster. The Governor's August 17, 2021 Proclamation declared a state of disaster emergency in Idaho. During this time of disaster, physicians who are licensed to practice in another state or country and in good standing can practice medicine via telehealth or in person in Idaho pursuant to Idaho Code 54-1804(1)(d).

The Governor announced the state of disaster emergency in Idaho will be lifted on April 15, 2022. To ensure continuity of patient care, physicians who are not licensed in Idaho have until July 1, 2022 to pursue licensure in Idaho or transition patient care to an Idaho-licensed physician.

Mandatory PDMP check begins 10/1/2020

Starting on October 1, 2020, prescribers will be required to check the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP).

FAQ for PDMP Mandatory Checking – Idaho State Board of Pharmacy

The Idaho Board of Medicine was legislated and appointed to assure the public health, safety and welfare in the state through the licensure and regulation of physicians, and to exclude unlicensed persons from the practice of medicine.

The Board regulates medical physicians, osteopathic physicians, physician assistants, athletic trainers, dietitians, respiratory therapists and polysomnography related respiratory care.

The "practice of medicine" means: to investigate, diagnose, treat, correct, or prescribe for any human disease, ailment, injury, infirmity, deformity, or other condition, physical or mental, by any means or instrumentality. The practice of medicine includes principles or techniques of medical science in the prevention of any of those conditions, as well as any offering, undertaking, or attempt to do or hold oneself out as able to practice medicine.

It is a felony for any person to practice medicine in Idaho without a license. The conviction of unlicensed practice will result in imprisonment in the state prison for a period not to exceed 5 years, or a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.